Annual Metra Safety Contest

Metra Safety Poster and Essay Contest Winners announced

Metra has announced the winners of its 16th Annual Safety Poster and Essay Contest, asking students across Metra's service area to illustrate through posters and essays the importance of safe behaviors near the railroad. This year's theme is "Stay Safe, Stay Off Train Tracks."

The Safety Poster and Essay Contest asks students to take on an advocacy role and communicate the importance of safety near the tracks. This year's theme: "Stay Safe, Stay Off Train Tracks"emphasizes the importance of being aware of your surroundings and personal safety when near railroad tracks, platforms, and crossings, which can be extremely dangerous.

One first-, second- and third-place winner has been selected from each grade, K through 12, for the poster contest and will be awarded the following prizes:

First Place: $500 gift card
Second Place: $250 gift card
Third Place: $100 gift card

Students were also able to submit an essay describing in 300 words or less why it’s important to "Stay Safe, Stay Off Train Tracks." when near railroad tracks, platforms, and crossings.  One first-place prize is being awarded in each of the essay contest's three divisions: grades K-4, 5-8 and 9-12. One winner from each division will receive a $500 gift card. In addition, winning designs will be featured in Metra’s safety calendar, website, weekend passes, and social media.

2022-2023 Winners List

The contest is open to all students in grades K through 12 living or attending school in Metra’s six-county service area: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will. If a student won first place in the 2021-2022 contest that student was NOT eligible to enter in the 2022-2023 contest.

Printable posters promoting the contest are available here:

2022-23 Safety Poster Contest Winners

Rajat Thakur

Brookdale Elementary, Naperville

Dasha Kosharko

1st Grade
Life Christian School, St. Charles

Aadyansh Tripathi

2nd Grade
Kildeer Countryside Elementary School, Kildeer

Callie Kim

3rd Grade
Robert Crown Elementary School, Wauconda

Kerim Usseinov

4th Grade
Reba O. Steck Elementary School, Aurora

Abigail Sim

5th Grade
Woodland Intermediate School, Gurnee

Minseo Kim

6th Grade
Aptakisic Junior High School, Buffalo Grove

Mason Ramirez

7th Grade
Antioch Upper Grade School, Antioch

Florence Lee

8th Grade
Aptakisic Junior High School, Buffalo Grove

James Beomjin Kim

9th Grade
William Fremd High School, Palatine

Chloe Takahashi

10th Grade
Hoffman Estates High School, Hoffman Estates

Niyati Naveen

11th Grade
New Trier High School, Winnetka

Wil Van Dyne

12th Grade
Cary-Grove High School, Cary